How does it matter…to you?

I have to get this off my chest because otherwise, it would devour me from inside and I’d be somewhat repentant I didn’t do it.

In a historic ruling, the Supreme Court has ruled that marriage is a fundamental right for every human being, regardless of their sexual orientation. As a result of this progressive ruling, many wonderful events are transpiring , even in states that are typically against such activities. The governors had this to say about the ruling. And this.

But coming to what I intend to express.

There is a section of people, fairly large in number, who have asked me:

“What difference does it make to you?”

Well, not directly. Maybe not tangibly. But I do feel good about it. I feel good about the fact that people with a sexual orientation different than mine are free to marry, just like I am. But if we’re applying that rationale, here are a few other things that don’t make a difference to me, Mr./Ms. “How does it make a difference to you?”:

  • Someone came and gave you a large chocolate cake. In fact, shoved it down your throat and poured a mug of crème anglaise on top.
  • Someone came and took a dump on you and left without cleaning up.
  • Someone came and hugged you.
  • Someone came and commented on your physical appearance.
  • Someone came and sealed your lips with araldite so you couldn’t speak for a while.
  • Someone came and tied you to a chair, tied a handkerchief to your mouth and made you watch Hum saath saath hain, Ek Vivah Aisa Bhi, Raja and Prem Aggan…back to back to back to back.

None of these would make a difference to me. Probably it would make some difference to you because some stuff is happening to you. But I’d be pissed if you didn’t have the freedom to choose. You should be free to choose Hum Aapke hain kaun over hum saath hain…or tell the person you don’t enjoy the taste of araldite or the fact that you might have to do surgery to separate your lips…or you’re more of a lemon bar person than a chocolate cake…or if you’re NOT a hug person so back the f**k off….or whatever floats your boat and as long as you’re not harming others.

You see, the freedom to choose to marry is not very different. A gay couple in their 80s getting married doesn’t make a direct difference to me but I am elated at the fact that they are free to choose. I’d like to choose and arrive at a mutual consent with my spouse. In fact, I’ve had that freedom. And I’ve found a wonderful better half. Hopefully she feels the same….I mean the having the freedom to choose part. Because one relationship, at least mathematically, can have only one better half…but I digress.

This ruling is fundamentally important because it doesn’t force anybody to marry or not marry. But every human being on earth now has the freedom to choose. And that way, yes, it does matter to me. And it would be nice if we, as a people, could move from “how does it matter to you?” to “How does it matter?”. The characters in the how does is matter to you could change any minute. But as a society that is trying to strive towards equality, it makes sense to think about things holistically. Rationally.

So yes, it does matter to me. Because next time, if a channel, for whatever reason, chooses to inflict the last bullet point (sans the tying to the chair bit), I have the freedom to flip the damn channel. Enthusiasts are free to tie themselves to a chair and watch the four movies if that enhances their viewing experience. But at the end of the day, freedom to choose makes everyone happy. Not you, not me….every one.

2 thoughts on “How does it matter…to you?

Leave a Reply

